Birds (Class Aves) are a popular group of animals, with many avid bird watchers here in Australia, as well as around the world. Check out some of our images provided here for you to enjoy.

Class Aves – birds encompass a group of animals comprising about 9,000 species that are bipedal, feathered and warm blooded. They have fore-limbs that are modified into wings, although not all birds can fly. Of the flightless birds, there are over 60 extant species that include the ostrich, emu, cassowary and penguin.

The upper and lower jaws of birds are modified into a beak, which lacks teeth.

The class Aves is divided into two subclasses:

  • Archaeornithes
    these are an extinct group that have toothed beak, long lizard-like tail.
  • Neornithes
    these include both current modern birds and extinct birds such as the dodo that became extinct in the 17th century.

  • Scientific classification
  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Clade: Sauropsida
  • Clade: Avemetatarsalia
  • Clade: Ornithurae
  • Class: Aves