Birds of Prey

Australian Boobook | Australian Hobby | Barn Owl | Black-breasted Buzzard | Black Falcon | Black Kite | Black-shouldered Kite | Brown Falcon | Brown Goshawk | Spotted Harrier | Wedge-tailed Eagle | Whistling Kite

Birds of Prey, also commonly known as Raptors, in terms of classification can be a complex field that includes species of birds who primarily hunt and feed on vertebrates that are considered large, in relation to the hunter (bird of prey), although some prey can be small such as small birds and rodents.

Theoretically all birds that consume animals could be classified as such, ornithologists however, use a narrower definition. Much of this can be read about in other research (with some suggestions in the Footnote and References below).

To assist visitors to our website, we have grouped some of our ‘Birds of Prey’ that include links to their individual pages. This page will continue to evolve as we add more images and content.

Raptors include eagles, hawks, kites, falcons, and owls. Although closely related to storks, vultures are often considered raptors, although unlike storks, vultures eat carrion.

Images © Dorothy L / Images Ausemade PL

  • Scientific classification
  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Aves
  • Order: Coraciiformes
  • Suborder: Alcedines
  • Family: Alcedinidae
  • Subfamilies
    • Alcedininae
    • Halcyoninae
    • Cerylinae

Footnote & References

  1. Bird of prey, (last visited June 15, 2021).