Azure Kingfisher | Blue-winged Kookaburra | Forest Kingfisher | Laughing Kookaburra | Red-backed Kingfisher | Sacred Kingfisher | Torresian Kingfisher |

The kingfishers are found all over Australia and whilst many species are found along coastal regions, some are also found inland including arid regions such as Central Australia.

Australia has ten native species that include the Kookaburra, which is our largest species, with a range of coloured plumage and unique personalities.

Kingfisher come in a range of wonderful coloured plumage and having their own unique personalities. From turquoise blue, greens, orange-red, they create striking drama as they dart onto prey, from their high vantage points such as trees in woodlands and forest, to man-made communication and electrical lines.

Whilst most kingfishers may nest in tree hollows and burrows along river banks and embankments, some are known to nest in termite nests.

The kingfisher species will feed on a range of prey that is subject to availability and their location. Many are known to eat a range of aquatic creatures that include fishes, frogs, crustaceans such as yabbies. They are also known to eat a variety of insects, the young nestlings of other birds, snakes, reptiles and small mammals.

Images © Dorothy L / Images Ausemade PL

  • Scientific classification
  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Aves
  • Order: Coraciiformes
  • Suborder: Alcedines
  • Family: Alcedinidae
  • Subfamilies
    • Alcedininae
    • Halcyoninae
    • Cerylinae