Hakeas are one of the major groups plants in the family Proteaceae, named after Baron von Hake, a German patron of botany. With about 150 species, most being in Western Australia, and about 40 species in the eastern states. There are some species found in Central Australia and South Australia.

Hakeas are trees or shrubs, together with Grevilleas, Banksias and a few other genuses, they form a distinctive component of the Australia’s flora.

Hakeas and Grevilleas can be found in Central Australia, from the sandy deserts of the south west Northern Territory to the hills and ranges around Alice Springs region.

Due to their flower shape and inflorescence, Hakeas are often confused with Grevilleas. Hakeas have woody fruit which distinguishes them from grevilleas which have non-woody fruit which release the seeds as they mature.

The genus has been classified by leaf forms under descriptive groups including needlewoods, corkwoods, falcate etc.

  • Scientific classification
  • Kingdom: Plantae
  • Clade: Tracheophytes
  • Clade: Angiosperms
  • Clade: Eudicots
  • Order: Proteales
  • Family: Proteaceae
  • Subfamily: Grevilleoideae
  • Tribe: Embothrieae
  • Subtribe: Hakeinae
  • Genus: Hakea
Long Leaved Corkwood (Hakea lorea) © Ausemade PL

Image (featured at top): Fork Leaved Hakea (Hakea divaricata) © Ausemade PL