Eastern Yellow Robin | Flame Robin | Red-capped Robin | Scarlet Robin

The robins in Australia belong to the family Petroicidae, that encompass a group of birds across Australasia (a region that includes Australia, New Zealand, New Guinea, and numerous Pacific Islands). Grouped together as Australasian Robins, they are endemic to the Australasia region and include 49 species across 19 genera.

For those who have a European background, Australia’s robins are nothing like those in Europe. Australia robins including species such as Flame Robin, Eastern Yellow Robin, Rose Robin and Scarlet Robin (just to name some).

Images © Dorothy L

  • Scientific classification
  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Aves
  • Order: Passeriformes
  • Superfamily: Corvoidea
  • Family: Petroicidae

Footnote & References

  1. A guide to Australia’s most colourful robins, by Bec Crew, 11 September 2019, Australian Geographic, https://www.australiangeographic.com.au/topics/wildlife/2019/09/a-guide-to-australias-most-colourful-robins/