Named after a magistrate William Henry Foster in 1871 who was called in to
adjudicate over matters to do with gold prospecting in and around the small
town. Before this time the area was known as Stockyard Creek. As with many towns
in Victoria their lifeblood came with the arrival of the railway in 1892.
Previously produce from the town was shipped to
Port Albert now it could go
Melbourne a distance of some 169km via the railway line. Many
soldiers settled in the Yanakie area just south of Foster after the 2nd World
War again increasing the population and diversifying the industries in the
Lying below the gentle rolling hills of the Strzelecki Ranges, the town is the
known as the gateway to Wilson's Promontory and a charming
place to stop for a hearty meal.
Check out our listing of
In addition to our listed online travel guide information, contact the local
tourism visitor centre for your destination for more attractions, tours, local
maps and other information.