AusEmade Home
QLD Home • QLD Accommodation • QLD Attractions • Resources • QLD Transport • Insurance • Travel Articles • Aboriginal Tourism

ACT • NSW • NT • QLD • SA • TAS • VIC • WA

Whitsunday Group of Islands

Click me for related accommodation... Queensland, Australia

Whitsunday Group of Islands
• Whitsunday Info
• Attractions
• Island Index
• Tours and Charters
• Transport
• Other Links
  > Community / Local Govt
  > Community Links
  > Related Links

Nearby QLD destinations
• Airlie Beach
• Great Barrier Reef
• Proserpine
• Shute Harbour

Popular QLD accom
• Brisbane
• Cairns
• Gold Coast
• Sunshine Coast
• Surfers Paradise

• Whale Watching
Custom Search
Travel Options
Car Hire
World Nomads
Travel Brochure
Whitsunday Group of Islands
A - D E - Z
• Acacia Island
• Akhurst Island
• Allonby Island
• Almora Islet
• Anchor Islands
• Anchorsmith Island
• Ann Islet
• Anvil Island
• Armit Island
• Aspatria Island
• Bailey Islet
• Blacksmith Island
• Brampton Island
• Cole Island
• Daydream Island
• Hamilton Island
• Hammer Island
• Hayman Island
• Ladysmith Island
• Lindeman Island
• Long Island
• Mausoleum Island
• Newry Islands
• Outer Newry Island
• Sir James Smith Group
• South Long Island
• South Molle Island
• Tancred Island
Other islands in the Whitsunday Group include:
• Amit Island • Ann Island • Baynham Island • Border Island • Buddibuddi Island • Cid Island • Comston Island • Cote Island • Dead Dog Island • Deloraine Island • Dent Island • Double Cone Island • Dumbell Island • Dungurra Island • Esk Island • Fitzalan Island • Gaibirra Island • Grassy Island • Gumbrell Island • Harold Island • Haselwood Island • Henning Island • Ireby Island • Keyser Island • Little Lindeman Island • Lupton Island • Maher Island • Mansell Island • Nicholson Island • North Molle Island • Olden Island • Pentecost Island • Perseverance Island • Pine Island • Ross Island • Seaforth Island • Shaw Island • Sillago Island • Teague Island • Thomas Island • Triangle Island • Volskow Island • Wirrainbeia Island • Workington Island
plus more islands to come...
There is no accurate tally of the number of islands and islets that can be found in the Whistsunday Group of Islands and much depends on your definition of the Whitsunday Group of Islands. Although some quarters talk about Cumberland Islands being the Whitsunday Islands and vice versa, this is incorrect. Any definition of the Whitsunday Islands must include some or all of the Cumberland Islands, and islands outside the Cumberlands eg the Repusle Islands and the Newry Islands, Double Cone Island and all its neighbours.

There is no official or generally accepted public definition of what constitutes the Whitsunday Islands, although in Ray Blackwood great publication ‘The Whitsunday Islands, An Historical Encyclopaedia’, he has elected to include all those islands and features which lie between Snare Peak Island in the south (the most southerly of the Cumberland Islands) and Gloucester Island in the north, the Great Barrier Reef to the east and the mainland coast to the west. The work covers over one hundred and sixty named islands.

Many thanks go to Ray Blackwood who gave us permission for much of the information that has been used our Whitsunday section of our site.

Source: Courtesy of author Ray Blackwood, The Whitsunday Islands, An Historical Encyclopaedia

Check out our listing of Whitsunday Islands accommodation. In addition to our listed online travel guide information, contact the local tourism visitor centre for your destination for more attractions, tours, local maps and other information.

Information Centre Tourism Whitsundays
Ph: 1800 801 252 / +61 7 4945 3711
Fax: +61 7 4946 3182

Whitsunday Visitor Information Centre

Bowen Visitor Information Centre
Bruce Highway
Mount Gordon
Ph: 07 4786 4222

Whitsunday Visitors & Convention Bureau - Airlie Beach

Back to Top

Whitsunday Group of Islands Other links

Back to Top
 AusEmade® Pty Ltd
 ABN 53 091 811 068
Advertise | Free Listing | Contact © 2001-2015 
Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright