AusEmade Home
NSW Home • NSW Accommodation • NSW Attractions • Resources • NSW Transport • Insurance • Travel Articles • Aboriginal Tourism

New South Wales

ACT • NSW • NT • QLD • SA • TAS • VIC • WA

Murrumbidgee Region

Travel NSW Information Destination Guide

New South Wales, Australia

Murrumbidgee Region
• Events

• Other Links
  > Community / Local Govt
  > Community Links
  > Related Links

Nearby NSW destinations
• Murrumbidgee River
• Snowy Mountains Region

Popular NSW accom
• Blue Mountains
• Byron Bay
• Hunter Valley
• Newcastle
• Port Macquarie
• Sydney
Custom Search
Travel Options
Car Hire
Travel Brochure
Travel Insurance
Book Hostels Online...
Murrumbidgee Region - Cities, Towns and Localities
• Coleambally
• Cootamundra
• Darlington Point
• Griffith
• Gundagai
• Hay
• Wagga Wagga

‘This howling wilderness. I am the first white man to see it
and I think I will undoubtedly be the last’

- John Oxley, Surveyor-General of NSW, 1817
giving his impressions of the land on which Griffith now stands.

The Murrumbidgee is a region traversed by the Murrumbidgee River and contains the Murrumbidgee and other irrigation areas, with Wagga Wagga being the major urban centre in the region. With a river that flows for 1,600 km, the Murrumbidgee also include two major water storages, Burrinjuck Dam and Blowering Dam on the Tumut River. The Snowy Scheme dams also store water and provide flows into the Murrumbidgee system via Blowering Dam and the Tumut River. With over 10,000 km of irrigation channels in the region, it is not surprising that the Murrumbidgee produces over 16 per cent of the total agricultural production of Australia. Lake George, Australia's largest freshwater lake, is located near Canberra.

Established in 1906, the Murrumbidgee Shire covers an area of over 3,400 sq km, that include over 100 km of natural river frontage to the Murrumbidgee River. The topography is mainly that of flat open plains at an elevation of 100-135 m above sea level. It offers the visitor a tranquil country lifestyle that sustains the many towns and agricultural communities that have grown around the river including Coleambally, Darlington Point, Gundagai, Wagga Wagga, Hay. The Murrumbidgee covers the shire and councils of:

  • Carrathool Shire Council
  • Coolamon Shire Council
  • Cootamundra Shire Council
  • Griffith City Council
  • Gundagai Shire Council
  • Hay Shire Council
  • Junee Shire Council
  • Lockhart Shire Council
  • Murrumbidgee Shire Council
  • Narrandera Shire Council
  • Temora Shire Council
  • Tumut Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council

In addition to our listed online travel guide information, contact the local tourism visitor centre for your destination for more attractions, tours, local maps and other information.

Information Centre

Wagga Wagga Visitor Information Centre
Back to Top

Murrumbidgee Region Events

• New South Wales Events
Murrumbidgee Farm Fair
• Usually held on the second Friday/Saturday in May, except for 2004 and 2010 when it will be held on the first (check website to confirm details) • PO Box 493, GRIFFITH NSW 2680
• Ph: 02 6962 0950 • Fax: 02 6962 0979 • Email
• At the Yanco Agricultural Institute, is this popular fair with a huge number of exhibitors.

Back to Top

Murrumbidgee Other Links

• Murrumbidgee Community/Local Government Links
• Murrumbidgee Community Links
• Murrumbidgee Related Links
Back to Top
 AusEmadeฎ Pty Ltd
 ABN 53 091 811 068
Advertise | Free Listing | Contact ฉ 2001-2015 
Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright