AusEmade logo
Home • Accommodation • Attractions • Tours • Links • Resources • Transport • Insurance • Travel Articles • Aboriginal Tourism

Travel Australia with AusEmade

ACT • NSW • NT • QLD • SA • TAS • VIC • WA

Flora and Fauna - Wild flowers and Wildlife in Australia

ACT • NSW • NT • QLD • SA • TAS • VIC • WA • New Zealand



  > Listing
• Classification
• List
• Other links

• Macropodidae
  > Macropus
     > Kangaroos
     > Wallaroos
  > Petrogale
    > Rock Wallaby

• Fauna
• Wildlife

• Flora
• Botanic Gardens
• National Parks, Reserve
Custom Search
Octopus Travel
Travel Options
Car Hire
Travel Brochure
Macropodidae • Marsupials
The family Macropodidae includes a number of genus, including the commonly known kangaroos, wallaroos and wallabies.

This family of marsupials are one of the most popular tourist attractions, with the kangaroo being one of Australia's iconic images. Whilst a number of species may be vulnerable or endangered, there are a number of places throughout Australia where visitors can get up close to these marsupials either in wildlife conservation or zoo parks settings. There are also numerous locations throughout Australia, where you can see kangaroos, wallaroos and wallabies in the natural habitat.

The genus include:

  • Lagostrophus
    — no longer found on the mainland of Australia, the single species commonly known as the ‘Banded Hare-wallaby’ is now restricted to the Islands of Bernier and Dorre off Western Australia.
  • Dendrolagus
    — there are 12 species of this genus, commonly known as ‘Tree-kangaroo’. They are found in rainforests habitats of far north-eastern Queensland, nearby islands and New Guinea.
  • Dorcopsis
    — the 4 species in this genus are native to Papua New Guinea and/or Indonesia.
  • Dorcopsulus
    — the 2 species in this genus are native to Papua New Guinea and/or Indonesia.
  • Lagorchestes
    — contains all but one of the species referred to as hare-wallabies. Of the 4 species, 2 are now extinct.
  • Macropus
    — with 14 species, in 3 subgenus, this grouping includes the kangaroos, wallaroos and several species of wallaby.
  • Onychogalea
    — of the 3 species, the Crescent Nail-tail Wallaby is extinct, the Bridled Nail-tail Wallaby is endangered, with the Northern Nail-tail Wallaby not listed as threatened.
  • Petrogale
    — there are a number of species, commonly referred to as ‘Rock Wallabies’.
  • Setonix
    — the Quokka (Setonix brachyurus) is a small macropod now restricted to  a small area in south-west of Western Australia. Can be seen as a protected species on Rottnest Island and Bald Island.
  • Thylogale
    — contain several species of small kangroo-like animals, more commonly named ‘pademelon’.
  • Wallabia
    — Swamp Wallaby, species W. bicolor.

Black-footed Rock Wallaby at Heavitree Gap ฉ AusEmade PL, 2006

Back to Top
Scientific Classification
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Subclass: Marsupialia
Order: Diprotodontia
Suborder: Macropodiformes
Family: Macropodidae
Genus: Lagostrophus

Macropodidae - Marsupial

Back to Top

Macropodidae - Marsupial • Other links

Museum Victoria • Includes some Marsupial images.
The Marsupial Society of Australia
• Based in Adelaide and dedicated to providing information and education regarding keeping and breeding our native fauna in captivity.
The Marsupial Ring • Linking sites relating to marsupials.
Check out our AusEmade gallery of products from
Back to Top
 AusEmade Pty Ltd
 ABN 53 091 811 068
Advertise | Free Listing | Contact ฉ 2001-2015 
Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright